A Soldier’s Final Gift

This story came out last week, but I think it’s timeless. Definitely a good read.

Danielle Burkhart, a mother of three in a small town in western Tennessee, never met the man who helped give back an active, healthy life to her 13-year-old daughter, Jessica.

The man, Army Sgt. 1st Class Gregory S. Rogers, had given a wonderful gift to them — complete strangers.

She hoped one day to meet him and thank him in person.

It will never happen…

Read the entire story, the e-mail correspondence and view photos

The Story

The E-Mails

Photo gallery

3 Responses

  1. Although sad in many ways, I love this story because of what it reveals about the character of a US soldier. He loves his wife, his country, and his “fellow man” (caring for strangers).

    This event like many others flies directly in the face of national press and political efforts to paint our soldiers as bloodthirsty savages (i.e. Abu Graib, etc.). Lindy Englund (sp?) does not represent me or my country. Sgt. Rogers is much more the typical American soldier in my mind and heart.

  2. Man, whew, Cameron, that article of yours was hard to read. It brought tears to my eyes. I hate death, and I love life, and life is so short, and war and diabetes is such a reflection of how much us humans are so deeply sinful and deserving of pain and chaos. Thanks for pursuing the story man. It is good to be reminded of important things.

  3. By the above I meant that war and diabetes are part of the larger evil world system that we are all responsible for, not that diabetes is a sort of individual punishment for particular sins. No effect of the Fall is penal for the saint!

Leave a comment